September 2015 Update

“Keep me safe, O God, for in you I take refuge.” Psalm 16:1
The date is set – September 28th Rolf returns to China. He will now be working at the Tiger Beach Academy in Dalian, about an hour away from where he was before. This is another school owned by the same owner of the school he worked at previously. Even though this will be in a different location he is somewhat nervous having Rolf return and has cautioned him to be “careful!”

“Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed.” Proverbs 16:3
We thank God that there was nothing serious that came from what happened when Rolf handed out the VCD’s of the Jesus film last December. Although Rolf was not able to return until now, he was not expelled from China and the school did not get in any trouble. And we know God can make good out of any situation. We had a wonderful summer traveling, being with family and friends and just being able to spend time together. Even though it wasn’t pleasant Rolf ended up needing to have shoulder surgery and time to recover and rehab from it. And the last doctor report was very good. Rolf is recovering ahead of schedule and he said he could even (carefully) play golf again! He will need to continue doing exercises until the end of the year for a complete recovery. We are grateful.

And while he has been gone his students continue to go to church. In fact one boldly put a picture on a social network site of a group of his students leading worship at their church and wrote the following: “Without divine guidance in life, flourishing in the world, and following Jesus in this life will wash away my sins and cleanse my soul. You are my Lord, who took up the cross, and lead me for the rest of my life, my beloved. I don’t deviate from your side.” Praise God for changed lives and the privilege to be able to be a part of what He is doing in China! We are thankful for YOU being on this team with us!

“I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. I have set the Lord always before me. Because he is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.” Psalm 16:7,8
This would be our prayer that we always seek His guidance and counsel in all we do.

Please PRAY
For safe travel and good health
For boldness with caution – always seeking God’s direction first
Rolf become acclimated quickly to the new location and school
To establish good relationships with his new students
Open hearts to hear the Good News
Wisdom on when and where to start his discipleship class and which students to ask to join
For Sherri taking care of things at home
God’s provision for our dwindling finances

Please also continue to pray for Sherri’s brother, Art and his wife Debbie. He is doing a pretty aggressive chemo and it has been pretty rough. Pray for his strength to endure and healing.

Leave a comment

Filed under ministry updates

Leave a Reply

