November 2008 Update

“Therefore go and make disciples of all nations baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you.” Matthew 28:19,20

This year with the heighten security where Rolf is he is needing to be much more creative in finding ways to reach his students for Christ. He has some ideas and we would ask your prayers for discernment, wisdom and safety as he tries to implement them. God is bigger than the risks and the rewards are great!

Rolf received this email from one of his former Chinese student who is now studying in the States:

“How’s everything going? I am writing this email to ask you to do me a favor. There is a guy who studies Chinese in my campus and I know him from the same church we go to. He asked me if I could find a bilingual Chinese/English Bible for him. Then I thought maybe you have chance to buy one. If it is possible, could you please send me one Chinese/English Bible to me . If there is not any more of this kind of Bible please let me know. Anyway, I want to thank you for many things. Not because you have done so many favors for me and treated me so many times with free meals, but most important is that it is you who lets me know about God and I have invited Jesus into my heart being a Christian. I always appreciate that. I feel so wonderful living under the blessing of the heavenly Father.” Brother James

Yes, the rewards are great and eternal, but we want to make sure the “risks” are God’s plans and not ours.

Thank you for your prayers for Rolf’s health. After numerous trips to the hospital (when ill in China one goes to the hospital not the doctor’s office) finally after many weeks he has recovered from that nasty cold. He does need to maintain all his energy for the 400 students he has to teach. Four hundred you say, how can that be!?! — that happens with 2 classes a day, five days a week, with anywhere from 22 to 85 different students per class. He will need to keep up this pace for the remainder of the school year as the American teacher that had to make the emergency trip back to the States is not coming back to teach.

The home front has also been presented with its challenges for Sherri. Debbie, our granddaughter’s mom lost her job a few weeks ago. Since then she has packed up and she and Brittany have moved back to Rockford. After 2 1/2 years of investing in Brittany to see her leave has been very difficult, not just in missing her but knowing the lifestyle and environment they go back to. We ask your prayers for them.

God’s mercies are still new every morning and we can still thank Him for His goodness, mercy and love. And with Thanksgiving coming we thank God for you and pray that your home be blessed and your lives enriched by the One to Whom we give thanks.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

Leave a comment

Filed under ministry updates

Leave a Reply

