Letter received from a friend

Never underestimate the power of God, the power of your prayers and the impact that you can have on behalf of someone else. With one small gesture you can change a person’s life. I believe we are all put in each others lives to impact one another in some special way. I like to share with you a wonderful email letter we recently received from a dear friend. Here is the letter:

Dear…
First, Happy and Blessed Easter to you! This is indeed the greatest season of all! Though today is indeed a solemn one, I woke with such great joy in my heart this morning and almost overwhelmed with the perfect love that God has for us. Thank you for being a harbinger of that love to us and for us all in these past years.

Second, thank you for remembering us in your prayers and encouraging us. My husband is just wrapping up week #5 at his new job. He’s growing and thriving in a way that I thought may not be possible for him this late in his career, but it’s happening. His travel schedule will become a little challenging, but I know he’s up for the task and grateful for the opportunities. We just wouldn’t be in the position without our family in Christ and all the prayer warriors keeping us elevated. What amazing grace!

We have been attending a small church, and we love our Pastor and his wife. It is the first time since we were married (over 20 years ago!!) and living downtown that my husband actually wants to go to church each and every Sunday. He made sure to leave his job early enough yesterday so that we could attend Maundy Thursday services together.

Our Pastor brought the life of Paul to life through an inspiring dramatization and afterward we took communion. I continue to be humbled and awed at the presence of the Holy Spirit during these moments. I felt every emotion that Jesus’ disciples must have felt the evening of that very Last Supper: fear, sadness, bewilderment, guilt…but all were washed away when love just started pouring over my heart. True, pure, Godly love…what a gift!

Got to run, but would love to see you and your wife; perhaps we could even think about some good dates in the future to host you and our Pastor and his wife for dinner. I’d love you to meet them!

Thank you. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for reintroducing me to Christ so that I could start taking the steps to build a solid relationship with him and start to light the path for others. When I think of you, I think of a Sunday School song I would sing as a little girl, “I Will Make You Fishers of Men”. We are so lucky that you heard God’s call and you answered.

Much love and every good wish for a joyful Easter!
End of letter

I believe every single person has the power to make a tremendous difference in our world. Too often we’re just not sure what to do, how to help, or how or where to get started. No matter where you live; how much money you make (or don’t make); whether you are healthy or sick; whether you are young or old; whether you are busy or have a lot of free time – YOU too, can make a difference!

“Bear in mind that our Lord’s patience means salvation, just as our dear brother Paul also wrote you with the wisdom that God gave him.” 2 Peter 3:15

Leave a comment

Filed under ministry updates

Leave a Reply

