October 2007 Update

“We can make our plans, but the final outcome is in God’s hands.” Proverbs 16:9 TLB.

We thought they were coming only for a “few weeks”. Much to our surprise not only did they come with a one year visa but they are also expecting a baby December 22nd! These are our Chinese friends Liaosha and Kevin who arrived in September.

So the “few week visit” turned out to be a time of finding a place for them to live, a car, a doctor for Liaosha and the baby, furnishings and moving them to their apartment, shopping, paperwork, etc. etc. Thanks to the generosity and help of many friends, after only 2 1/2 weeks they were moved into their own apartment, furnished and ready to go!  We are always amazed when the need is there how God’s people come together and provide. What a testimony, especially to Kevin and Liaosha, to God’s love.

We met Liaosha almost 4 years ago when she came to us for a 2-week stay from Scotland where she was attending school. Her stay came about after meeting her mom on one of our China trips. While Liaosha was here we introduced her to Jesus. Although she was here long enough to be drawn to who He is, she was not here long enough to really establish a relationship with Him. When she went back to Scotland she sadly became involved with someone teaching a different gospel and was having weekly “lessons” with her since.

After wondering and perhaps being a little taken back at their “surprises” God has made it clear to us He does have a plan and a purpose in all this.  Liaosha is back and she and Kevin have been going to church with us and Kevin has been attending a men’s Bible study with Rolf.  They both were there when Monica was baptized earlier this month (see photo and personal testimony below) and heard her faith story of how she came to know Christ as her Lord and Savior.  Both of their moms will be coming, too, as soon as they can get their visas.  They will be staying for an extended period time to help care for the baby. PRAY God would reveal Himself to them and their moms and draw them into a relationship with Him.

BAPTISM
A Celebration of New Life
Personal Faith Story
Guo Kajia (Monica)

When I was a little girl I was very shy, scared and lonely.  I felt often that nobody loved me except my Grandma with whom I was living at the time when my parents were soldiers in the Army stationed in another province. At the age of 6 my Grandma and my Mom told me about the God who created us and we often prayed together. I always wondered what would happen to me in the future.  But as I was growing up I lost my desire for Jesus and turned away from Him. I further lost my enthusiasm for study and did not obey my Mom’s wishes and started to rebel against my parents’ authority.  I also lost my self-worth and confidence and as result of that I always felt very tired and negative to everyone around me.

At the age of 16 I went by myself to church and talked in great lengths with the pastor.  I shared with him many of my shortcomings and hurts I felt inside my heart.  The pastor encouraged me to go to God in prayer and repent of my sins and ask Him for forgiveness, which I did.  To my amazement when I returned home my parents told me that they were forgiving me for my rebellious attitude.  My Mom told me later that she was praying for me during the same time when I was at the church without knowing that I was there.

In the summer of 2006 I met Rolf & Sherri Ronstadt who were English teachers in my school. Mr. Ronstadt shared with me many things about God, gave me a NIV Study Bible and a “Jesus” DV D movie. He also told me how I could know God personally as my Lord and Savior. Once I understood that God gave his own Son to die on the cross for my sins I was ready to invite Jesus in my heart. One day after school Mr. Ronstadt prayed with me to receive Jesus and I began my personal relationship with God trusting Him with my life and to be His child forever.

Thanks for being a part of making His salvation known among the nations!!

“May God be gracious to us and bless us and make his face shine upon us, that your ways may be known on earth, your salvation among all nations.” Psalm 67:1,2

Leave a comment

Filed under ministry updates

Leave a Reply

